Day 2: Family Dinners

image

image-1

image-3

image-2

 

 

image-4

Growing up, I never really had the family dinners thing. My father left when I was 6, my mother wasn’t very much of a cook (to her credit, she could make amazing spaghetti and chicken salad though), so dinner for me was something like a chilli cheese burrito from Taco Bell in front of Breaker High playing on the TV.

The first time I had dinner with Mark’s parents, the idea of settling in a given place at a table filled with foods I had yet to learn to pronounce, without the television to serve as a central focal point, was alien to me. All of a sudden, I had these new set of familial obligations to learn and I was apprehensive at not being able to adapt as well as I should have because I hadn’t been accustomed to no more than a table for one (sometimes two). The cherry on top of my quickly melting sundae was that I was a picky eater on top of everything else. Vegetables never even grazed my plate and you couldn’t pay me to take a bit of any type of fish.

Ever so slowly, my love of food was nurtured and it is a beautiful feeling to be cooking dinner alongside by husband, in a home of our own, for the children who will always have better, and for the mother who couldn’t get me to eat much more than plain rice with soup!

 

thefourteenthofapril adores comments.

